Responsive Menu
Add more content here...

War Memorials from the locality of North Cornwall


War Memorials from the locality of North Cornwall:

Wesleyan Chapel: Sgt D Cory Pte WH Adams Pte GT Brendon Pte B Hardy Pte JS Hill
Pte JD Lillicrap Pte BC Marton Pte B Phelp Pte H Raymond Bdr GI Webber

Conservative Club: Lt AM Williams,RN W Adams THT Bate L Cole S Doidge E Hare C Medland
R Medland RW Maddaver H Pode CA Phelps JH Slee GN Spry AC Thynne
HB Thornhill S Thomas L Tucker JAG Vowler S Vowler E Vosper

Dunheved College: Dudley CD Bennett Arthur C Buddenn Charles E Butt H Athelston Chuter
George J Cunnack William Dingley Jack AJ Evans E Grainger Eveleigh
Edward S Hain Benjamin Hardy J Harold Keeble M Roy Lory Fred W Lewis
Bertram C Morton Leslie A Okey Leslie N Perken E Harry Prior Montague E Pethick
Ian C Robertson Leslie H Robston George R Ridley Leonard Roseveare John R Sharp
Tom Stoddart John Stoddart William P Stidson John T Sharpley Arnold Thoebald
Fred G Trimmer

St Stephens: Flt. Lt. Eric A Bennetts Gnr T Brighton Pte R Brighton Cpl TS Brighton
L/Cpl FH Brighton Pte Davey Sgt J Fitze Pte LC Geake Pte WJ Gimblett
2/Lt WJ Kent Captain DC Langdon 2/Lt WMJ Llewellyn 2/Lt RWD Maddever
Chaplain GF Morgan Pte P Rooke Pte SC Rundle Miss Harriett Dorothy M Thompson,

Lezant: 1915- William T Hodge, HMS Nymph Leonard H Bray, N Devon Hussars
1916 – Charles Roberts, RASC Walter W Lee, HMS Indefatigable
1917 – Ernest Jasper, 34th Training Res Wilfred Lane, 44th Canadian Bn
Elias Sanders, MM, 9th Yorks Charles T Budge, 1/6th DCLI Henry Doney, 49th Canadian Bn
1918- William Osbourne, 1/5th DCLI John Steed, 1/5th DCLI
Samuel L Abbott, Canadian Forestry Corps.

Altarnun: George Deacon Alfred Hodge William Jeffrey E Pethick
Charles Shepherd Symons John Turner Thomas Venning
William Warring Edwin Whale George Whale

Boyton Ch. Memorial: 1914 1918
Furze F. Parnell C. Lawrence S. Hicks F. Parnell W. Lawrence W.
Hicks P Sleeman H Metherell I. May C.
1932 1949
Peter M.S. Stuart D.R.

North Petherwin: 1914- 1918:

Samuel Banbury Samuel J Davey George Dilbert
Kenneth Gubbin John R Hutchings Alfred Martin William Phillips Harry Withers
1939 – 45: William H Cobbledick

Egloskerry War Memorial: 1914-18 War:
T Penhorwood, Amb. Corps. George Deacon. Herbert Eliot. Jack AA Evans. Frank Francis. Maurice Gilbert. 1939-45: Colville

Post & News: List of ‘Heroes of Egloskerry’ 1st January, 1916:
ARMY: Gordon Bastard; G Deacon [killed]; W Drew; J Drew; O Davy; F Davy;
L/Cpl. G Francis; J Fry; FD Frayne; F Francis; E Gregory; JE Jones; Geo Kinver; S Lynch; Cpl. Mason [wounded]; E Pethick; T Penhorwood, [killed]; W Phillips; Percy Pethick;
John R Symons*; Sgt. WH Westlake.
NAVY: J Cornish; CPO F Daw; PO J Daw; J Deacon; A Pethick; E Pethick; F Pethick;
John Rowe; CPO J Weeks.


Roll of Honour 1916:

Treneglos:- Driver H Spry; L/Cpl J Gerry; Lt. LG Hill.
Tresmeer: Army – J Crabb; W Crabb; JW Dawe; GJ Dawe; G Davey; F Davy; B Turner.

Saint Mary Magdalene Parish Church, Launceston, has two war memorials, one for WW1, and another for WWII. For WW1:-
To the Glory of God and in Memory of the Officers, N.C.O’s, and Men who Gave Their Lives in the Service of their King and Country during the Great War of 1914 – 1918.

Major DFS Vowler MGC & Sherwood Foresters L Cole RW Fusiliers
Lt. JC Hockin 7th Gurkha Rifles A Cudlipp 10th Devons
Lt. J B Slee 7th DCLI JH Hutchings 13th Yorks
Lt. JAG Vowler MGC & Leinster Regt. SJ Marks RFA
Sgt. J Biller 1st Canadian Rifles H Maunder RGA
Sgt. DOEG Cavey RAMC R Medland 1st Canadian Mntd Rifles.
Sgt. C Medland DCLI RC Murton 6th DCLI
L/Cpl. J Bridgman 2nd Devons W Owen DCLI {Pioneers]
L/Cpl. B Clarke 1/4th DCLI GF Oxenham Devon Yeomanry
L/Cpl HJ Lake M.F.P. H Raymond 1/5th DCLI
L/Cpl. J Martin 31st Canadian Inf Bde. RS Sillifant 1/5th Lancs Fusiliers
L/Cpl. HS Starr Som. LI GN Spry R.E.
L/Cpl. A Whitford DCLI [Pioneers] C Steed R.F.A.
C Bickle 6th DCLI SW Thomas 1st Wilts Regt.
GT Brendon 8th Lincolns LHH Tucker R.F.A.
F Brown 2/4th Berks Regt. FJ Weeks 2nd DCLI
In Honoured Memory of the Men of Dunheved otherwise Launceston Who
Gave Their Lives In The War 1939 – 45.
Bulmer BVH Harry CN Jury RPD Raddall PS
Cook KW Hawkins TC McLaren SG Sandercock RT
Deceico L Hayman RW Manning PW Sargent F
Duke FJ Hender TH Marks JH Slade GT
Geake GW Hillman G Maunder R Sullock EJ
Gillard FAH Hole RS Moyse WJ Thomas AW
Goodman NJ Jago AJ Parish CW Tickle CR
Harris ER Jory AE Parsons SF Walters HC
Harris WA Wingfield BF
These Were Honoured in their Generation and were the Glory of Their Time

Central Methodist church, Castle St, Launceston, War Memorials:
Samuel Marks. Stanley Silliphant. Stanley Doidge. Charles Bickle. George Spry.
William Savage. Sgt D Cavey. Pte JD Lillicrapp. Pte WH Adams. Pte BC Murton.
Pte GT Brendon. Pte E Philp. Pte B Hardy. Pte H Raymond. Pte JS Hill.
Bombardier GL Webber. 1914 – 1919.
Cephas N Harry. Charles W Parish. Richard H Maunder. George T Slade.
Richard H Maunder. George T Slade. Noel J Goodman. Thomas H Hender.
Erich J Sullock. Phillip S Raddall. Jack T Moyse. Victor H Bulmer.
(Of the above list, twelve men are not on the Town Memorial)

Visits: 111